Reference: Annual Audit Report on the Senate Electoral Tribunal

For the Calendar Year 31 December 1988

Historical Background

The Senate Electoral Tribunal was created by virtue of Section 17, Article VI (Legislative Department) of the 1986 Constitution which mandates that the Senate and the House of Representatives shall each have an Electoral Tribunal.

The Senate Electoral Tribunal is composed of nine (9) Members, three of whom are Justices of the Supreme Court who were designated by the Chief Justice and the remaining six are members of the Senate who were chosen on the basis of proportional representation from the political parties and the parties or organizations registered under the party-list system. The senior Justice in the Electoral Tribunal is the Chairman. Likewise, Section 19, Article VI mandates that, the Electoral Tribunals be constituted within thirty (30) days after the Senate and House of Representatives shall have been organized with the election of the Senate President and Speaker.


The Senate Electoral Tribunal shall be the sole judge of all contests relating to the election, returns and qualifications of the Members of the Senate.

Organizational Set-up

The agency is governed by the Tribunal composed of the following:

  1. Justice Andres R. Narvasa – Chairman
  2. Justice Hugo E. Gutierrez, Jr. – Member
  3. Justice Edgardo L. Paras – Member
  4. Senator Teofisto T. Guingona – Member
  5. Senator Neptali A. Gonzales – Member
  6. Senator Juan Ponce Enrile – Member
  7. Senator Jose D. Lina, Jr. – Member
  8. Senator Mamintal A.J. Tamano – Member
  9. Senator Victor S. Ziga – Member

Performance and Accomplishments

From the organization of the agency in September, 1987 to December 31, 1988, the Senate Electoral Tribunal was able to receive two (2) election cases filed with it and both were acted upon by hearing the cases and sending out the necessary summonses and receiving answers. Further action on the cases could not be rendered because of the failure of the protestant to designate the precincts (25% of the total number of precincts in the contest) whose ballot boxes shall first be opened. Pending further action on the cases, the Tribunal has initiated the creation and streamlining of the machinery / personnel complement to tackle the revision by establishing the systems and procedures of their duties.