In 1992, he was elected Senator for a six-year term. As a lawmaker he held various chairmanships like Senate Committees/Committee on Health and Demography and the Committee on Games and Amusements. He also headed the Senate Ad Hoc Committee on AIDS and the Congressional Commission on Health. He authored, co-authored and steered into law, acts such as the National Health Insurance Act, (R.A.7875), The Hepatitis-B Immunization Act, (R.A. 7846), The Corneal Transplant Law, the Voluntary Blood Donation Act, (R.A.7719) and the Act Granting Benefits to Barangay Health Workers (R.A. 7883)