Where is the Senate Electoral Tribunal(SET) Office located?

SET is located at Electoral Tribunals Building, COA Compound, Batasan Road, corner Commonwealth Avenue, Quezon City (at the back of Sandiganbayan).

What is the Tribunal’s mandate?

The Senate Electoral Tribunal is a constitutional body created under Sections 17 and 19 of Article VI of the 1987 Philippine Constitution. It is mandated by the Constitution to decide on all contests pertaining to the election, returns and qualifications of the Members of Senate.

Who are the Members of the Tribunal?

The Tribunal is composed of nine (9) Members, three (3) of whom are Justices of the Supreme Court who were designated by the Chief Justice and the remaining six (6) are members of the Senate who were chosen on the basis of proportional representation from the political parties. The senior Justice in the Electoral Tribunal is the Chairperson.

What is the function of the Tribunal?

The Tribunal shall have exclusive control, direction and supervision of all matters pertaining to its own functions and operations.

How is an election protest initiated?

An election contest is initiated by the filing of an election protest or a petition for quo warranto against a Member of the Senate. An election protest shall not include a petition for quo warranto, nor shall a petition for quo warranto include an election protest.

Who can file an election protest?

Any candidate who has duly filed a certificate of candidacy and been voted for the office of Senator.

When can a candidate file an election protest?

The candidate’s protest must be filed within thirty (30) days from the proclamation of the protestee.

What is quo warranto?

It is a petition contesting the election of a Member of the Senate on the ground of ineligibility or disloyalty to the Republic of the Philippines.

Who can file a quo warranto?

Any registered voter.

When can a voter file a quo warranto?

The voter must file within ten (10) days after the proclamation of the respondent.

 1. On ground of ineligibility or disloyalty to the Republic of the Philippines – within ten (10) days after proclamation of respondent.

2. On ground of ineligibility based on citizenship – at any time during the respondent’s tenure.

3. On ground of loss of required qualifications – at any time during the respondent’s tenure, as soon as any of the required qualifications is lost.

How can one file an election protest or quo warranto?

Election contests shall be filed either personally with the Office of the Secretary of the Tribunal or by registered mail addressed to the same office in fifteen (15) clearly legible copies.