Republic of the Philippines

Office of the Secretary

Office of the Secretary, Senate Electoral TribunalThe Office of the Secretary (OSEC), headed by the Tribunal Secretary Atty. Irene R. Guevarra, oversees the day-to-day operations of the Tribunal Secretariat. It exercises general supervision over the line and support as well as adjudicatory and administrative functions of the various Service Groups of the Secretariat, particularly the keeping and securing of ballot boxes, election documents, papers, files of exhibits, the office seal and other property of the Tribunal.

Pursuant to Rule 12 of the 2013 Rules of the Tribunal, the Secretary of the Tribunal attends the sessions and meetings of the Tribunal and keeps the Minutes thereof; receives all pleadings and other documents properly presented; keeps a judicial docket wherein all contests brought before the Tribunal and the proceedings had therein entered in chronological order; prepares the calendar of cases, certifies under the seal of the Tribunal and implements all decisions, resolutions, order and notices of the Tribunal.

The Secretariat of the Tribunal keeps: a) a judgement book which contains a copy of each decision and final resolution or order rendered by the Tribunal in the order of their dates; b) a Book of Entries of Judgement, which contains, in chronological order, entries of the dispositive portions of all decisions and final resolutions or orders of the Tribunal; and c) an account of the funds set aside for the Tribunal expenses and funds received and disbursed relative to the cases. The Tribunal Secretary is further mandated to maintain such other records and to perform such other duties as prescribed by law for clerks of superior courts or as the Tribunal or the Chairperson may direct.